manual focusing without setting manual focus

alastair_anderson

This has happened to me on several ocasions with all my AF cameras; especially when placing my camera in a tight fitting bag that grips the focsuing ring. My best suggestion is to just get in the habit of setting it to manual mode before placing it in a bag, screwing on a filter or hood, and especially when handing it to a novice or non-nikon user who is pretty much bound to twist any grippy ring with reckless abandon! The motors in these cameras are extremely robust, as are the gears in the lenses. I have heard of people who did not realize you cannot manually focus non AF-S lenses in AF mode for a year with no problems other than near heart attacks upon realization. Hope this helps put your mind at ease! Happy Shooting!

I'm new to all this electronic stuff - normally use Leica rangefinders.

Perhaps there has been some damage, although it's apparently unrelated to focusing, but I note that the programme exposure mode will not allow me to access the full range of f stops available on the lens. Manual mode gives me f2.8 to f32, but P* truncates this for some reason. Close up it allows a maximum of f3.2 and at 10 feet or so, depending on the light, I can't select a minimum much below f25. Initially I thought this was just because the camera is really sophisticated; maybe f3.2 is the true max. aperture when the lens is wound all the way out. But I don't have a logical explanation for the limit to minimum aperture. Unless I'm being warned about diffraction.

This is all academic because in practice one wouldn't use these positions. Perhaps the programme is aware of that.

I find it a little frustrating, however, as it seems a somewhat quirky.