Not sure if this is the right forum for this, but I'd like to draw on the

collective minds of photo.net to help me come up with some ideas for

radiographic art. I'm a hobbist photographer, but in real life I'm a

veterinarian and having seen some cool art images people have made with their

x-ray machines, I'd like to have a try. What I need are some ideas of what

might be cool to x-ray. I've seen a lot of flowers and seashells done, so I'd

like to try something different. My idea list includes fruit and other foods,

electronic parts, plastic dolls, shoes, skulls (I have a collection of skulls

from various species of animal), beads and trinkets, Christmas ornaments....

What are your ideas? The items to be radiographed should be low in metal

content (metal just shows up as bright white on x-rays). It would also help if

they are things that you find around the house, or are easy (cheap) to find,

borrow or scavenge. My largest film size is 11 inches x 17 inches, so the

item(s) can't be bigger than that.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Catherine

Get a little edgy:

<br><br>

A chicken, some chicken wire, and a fork.

<br><br>

A cow hock/hoof, some barbed wire, and a steak knife.

<br><br>

Or maybe some tofu and some chopsticks (hmmm... low contrast!).

<br><br>

Interlocking antlers?

<br><br>

Finch skeleton in a bird cage?

<br><br>

Fish with tackle/bait?

<br><br>

Mice, mousetrap?

<br><br>

Hmmm. I detect an exhibit theme! No kittens were injured in the production of this comment.

For what it's worth, Catherine, I wasn't being a smart-ass. I'm not sure how illuminating or message-y you're looking to get here, especially given how you spend your day. It just strikes me that some of the hard, metallic things that end up intersecting with critters both wild and domestic might be an interesting study.

You guys are great!