how much time do you spend with raw conversion vs. other editing?

The first time I started shooting digital I was using Photoshop CS and was

converting my raw files with the plugin for PS that came with my camera. The

controls for raw conversion were limited to +-2 stops exposure compensation and

the selection of a predefined white balance setting. All in all, the great

majority of the time was spent tweaking the picture in PS.

Now that I have PSCS3 with Adobe Camera Raw, I spend way more time processing my

raw files. There are so many settings available, that very often any kind of

tweaking after the raw conversion is unnecessary. I'd basically like to know

your strategy: Do you do minimal adjustments in the raw processing phase and

just try to get an image that is easily adjustable later, or do you try to make

the picture as close as possible to your final aim while applying the raw

adjustments?

I've started doing more and more work on the RAW file directly, so that what it renders is pretty close to what I need. I'll still open some files up in a traditional pixel editor if I have to do some layering tricks or other surgery... but the for me, Capture NX is doing a pretty good job at the normal "lab" stuff, and I like the fact that the underlying capture is kept virginal.

I do all my initial processing in Lightroom, which makes the distinction of RAW vs JPEG vs

TIFF vs PSD irrelevant. Since I started using Lightroom as the basis of my workflow, the

amount of more specialized, selective editing required in Photoshop has been reduced

dramatically.

Godfrey

I would say it just the way Godfrey said it, but I cycle every important image through Photoshop just so I can use PK Sharpener on it. Even for JPEGs that I post on the web, it does a significantly better job than I can do with Lightroom alone.

Also, all printing is done through Photoshop so I can make use of soft-proofing.