Drew - Suggestions for Sports Shooting

morganfam7

I don't know what happened to this post by Drew, but here it is again:

I have a Nikon D70 and almost purchased a Nikkor AF-S 70-300 mm VR lens

yesterday, but thought I should get some pro advice first.

I want if for shooting kids sports, flag football outside and basketball

inside.

My main questions are:

1) Is 300mm long enough or should I look at the 400mm?

2) Will the f/4.5 allow for adequate results in a basketball gym or for the

occasional night football game? (Or would a good flash attachment compensate for

lower gym lighting?)

3) I assume that the VR is worth the additional $, but should I consider

something else... i.e. Sigma?

Thanks,

Drew

--------------------------------

Drew, I'm a newbie shooting jr. high and high school sports with an old Canon

dslr (3 fps)and 50 mm f/1.8. I have to use an aperture of 2 or below with ISO

in the 800 or 1600 range in order to get my shutter speed high enough to stop

motion. My gym and the ones that we play in at other schools are that dark. I

don't see any way that f/4.5 is going to get you the photos you want. I may be

wrong, but it hardly seems possible. If I remember right, each move up on the f

stop numbers is one half of the light of the number below. I don't know about

flash, so I'm sure someone else will make a suggestion about that. I don't know

where you will be shooting from, but it seems that 300mm would be difficult to

get the angles you need. Could you go to the home gym and see just how far from

the basket you will be and whether you can get their facial expressions as they

jump for a shot near the basket? For 50mm and 85mm lenses, I need to be right

on the line at the corners or under the basket. Sometimes the first seat within

about 5 feet of the sidline works.

Friday night football, for the most part, was about the same as basketball in a

dark gym except that I needed more focal length. The 300mm focal length will be