Questions about which lens to purchase for Portraits & weddings

michael_wilson9

I am a hobbyist at most and have just upgraded from my 5th point in shoot canon.

I purchased the Canon 40D that came with the 28MM-135 IS lens. I am looking

into doing some portrait work with my kids. I have done some neighbors and

friends in the past with the little compact and edited them in PS.

I have about 300-400 bucks for a decent lens. I have read so many reviews that

my head is spinning. I am currently looking at the Tamron SP AF 28-75mm 28-75

f/2.8 f2.8 XR Di LD or the Canon 85mm Ef/1.8. I plan on adding to my lens

collection over the next year or 2. As long as the wife (CPA)lets me.

I would appreciate any thoughts and what type of equipment would be good to

have such as type of lenses (wide angle, macro etc.)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,

Mike

Tamrons are a great budget lens. Not sure why you are looking for a lens with the same focal length as the lens that came with your camera? The lens you have should be fine for portraits. No need for a really fast lens with portraits.

You will need to raise the budget if you are seriously considering wedding photography. Hold on to the $300-$400 and start saving for the Cannon 70-200 f2.8 and a Tamron wide angle.

I think you'd find a shorter prime lens like the 50mm f1.8 more versatile then the 85mm if you go that route but for a beginner, I think you would get more out of zoom lenses.

You're going to need far more than just one additional lens before you start to consider wedding work! Your stated $300 - $400 budget may get you a reasonably fast fixed focal length lens for portraits ($340.00 for the 85mm 1.8) but for wedding work you will need pro quality wide zoom and telephoto zoom in 2.8 versions - minimum $3,000.00. I'm not even going to begin a discussion about your body upgrades (two pro level bodies), plus strobes.