Manual Focus on Digital Nikon Cameras

michael_pye

Hi,

Apart from having a kats-eye installed on my camera, has anybody got anymore

tips for crystal clear manual focusing on the D80?

At the moment I have to take a good few shots, which I don't mind but I would

prefer not to.

I was wondering if there was such a thing as some kind of 'enlarger viewer' you

could some how put over the eye piece to have a larger clearer view of the

image?

Compared to the old-timers I'm a rookie when it comes to manual focusing but here you go anyway.

Using a manual focus screen like katz-eye you can focus with the split image, the micro prism area or the matte area. The split image works best on straight lines - rotate the camera if needed when the lines aren't horisontal. The micro prism works best on subjects that are irregular but not too busy and the matte area on busy patterns like grass or on light sources. The matte area is also good when you focus just by having it look sharp.

Manual focusing is a skill and needs to be practiced. Often you can focus on something else besides what you are actually photographing. For instance if someone is walking towards me and I want to get a shot of them I might follow focus on the ground where they walk. Or I might pre-focus on something in front of them and fire when they get there. Or I might zone focus by presetting the distance scale and shoot when they get into that area.

For speed you can also reset the focus to infinity so for each thing you need to focus on the focus ring will always be turned the same way.

If you have the original focus screen in your D80 you only have a matte area but it's not really designed for manual focusing so can't be used for critical focusing at wide apertures like f/2 or f/1.4.

You can also use the dot in the viewfinder to see when something at the selected focus point is in focus. It's not really accurate though.