How long do I keep images on my computer.....

elnoralouisa

I am still new to this and Senior, and family photography, and am trying to

get a system down for computer work, etc. Just noticed last poster saying

they were asking for photos after two years.

I (of course :) have my photos backed up to CD, but how long do you actually

keep them on your computer where they are easily at your fingertips for

ordering? Do you have an ordering deadline for weddings or portraits?

For DVD's that you provide with music and some of their pics, do you insist

they get copies from you within a certain amount of time? (It seems Proshow

Gold when you move the files, the DVD stuff is no longer available without

some searching..???).

Just trying to get organized.........

Debbie

I have a dedicated hard-drive for working files. If I think I will have orders from that job folder in the next couple of months I leave the master folder on the working hard-drive. If I don't expect anymore need of the folder in the near future I archive it to CD/DVD and it goes into my files with any and all paperwork/contracts and filed in my file cabinets (just like all of my (negatives/chromes) weddings, portraits, and commercial jobs back to 1975) All weddings are filed by date, portraits & commercial jobs are filed by name.

You should have two or three external hard drives for multiple backups. DVDs and CD-ROMs are too much of a big PIA to deal with anymore; external HDs are cheap! 400GB and higher and you can hook several up at once with Firewire. No need to throw anything away. There's no better method. Nothing's perfect but if you maintain duplicates of backups you'll be 99.999% fine as long as one of the backups is off site.

I agree with Ken, but I use a program called MirrorFolder to give myself a cheap RAID, so that if one hard drive goes, the data is still there. MirrorFolder can selectively back things up based on file type, so I only back up the RAW and finished JPEGS.