For that first experience...

sdsalyer

Hello everyone. :)

I responded to an ad in a nearby small-town newspaper regarding a part-time high

school football/volleyball photography job. I am a novice at best and haven't

been at photography long (which I was very forthcoming about), but I thought it

might be a worthwhile experience, if for no other reason than to say I'd been

published/paid for photos (not that I intend to be a pro... it's really just an

-- albeit obsessive -- hobby so far). I included some shots I took at a

motorsports event several months back since they asked for samples and that was

basically all I had related to sports.

The fellow (I think he's the head photographer for the paper) responded and

seemed to like my photos. He didn't answer all of the questions I had, but he

asked me to get back with him if I was still interested in the job. All he

really told me was that it involves shooting mostly high school football and

that it pays $7.00 per hour.

I find per-hour pay to be a bit confusing. I assumed I might be paid mileage

and then a flat rate for specific photos they would be interested in purchasing.

I've searched here on photo.net and that seems to be the norm. My concern is

that they might expect to own the rights to all of the photos taken during time

"on the clock" as it were. Obviously, I'd much rather not surrender those rights.

Anyway, the pay isn't what concerns me (though rights to the images does). I

just thought it might be worth it for the experience, even if I didn't make a

penny in the process. I have a few other concerns, seeing as I've never even

attempted shooting football, I would likely be driving 1hr+ to get to these

games (the paper is a couple counties over), and I don't want to ruin my gear by

getting crunched on the sidelines or drowning my cameras in rain/snow/mud.

I haven't really entertained the idea of trying to be a pro photographer, though