Rookie need help!

ron_ongkowijoyo

I have never done any studio photography before. I have some products that i

want to shoot without hiring professional people. so here's the breakdown... the

room is an office room lit with several neon lights (the long ones), I have

Nikon D40X with SB400 flash, the product is plastic pail (for decorative paints,

like a bucket).

The problems that i'm having is that these pails (mostly white in color) tends

to give me so much glare, i assumed it's because of the lights... Anyway, i need

to get this done very soon and hiring someone is not an option. Any help would

be greatly appreciated. What do i need to invest on? or maybe some simple tricks

you guys know to solve this problem.

Thanks so much in advance!

Some example images would be helpful in giving specific/accurate advice. Depending on how much time and willingness to learn, the answer can be as simple as purchaing a light tent, or experimenting with lights/reflectors/diffusion material. If you choose the latter, keep in mind one constant: angle of incidence is equal to the angle of reflection.

Ron,