Arsat 600mm lens

alpenglow

I have no experience with that particular lens but 'mirror' lenses are questionable for general telephoto work. The limited fixed aperture is a deterrant as well as the donut shaped OOF highlights. OTOH, they afford considerable saving of weight, bulk, & cost, and might be an excellent choice for special situations; particularly for astronomical work. Just not an adequate substitute for conventional telephoto.

Another alternative, which I use, is a Cambron 500mm f/8 preset converted to Mamiya 645 by Zoerk Fototecknik. It is not a mirror lens. I got it on *bay for very little after having used the same lens on a 2x3 Speed Graphic for years. The same lens is available from various other suppliers (the one I used on the Speed Graphic came from Porters and I converted it myself). Buying it used avoids having to deal with the scum at Cambridge Camera (assuming they are still in business).

I second Robert's recommmendation that you study Trevor Allin's recent tests very closely. Then follow that up by reading the discussion of these tests on the Kiev Report (Delphi forums).

Basically, the Arsat 600mm emerges from the tests as the best of the pack of 600mm lenses/combinations for the P6 mount, and by far the best of the mirror lenses. Note that the 500mm Rubinars are actually more like 600mm, since the mirror spacing has been changed to the longer back focus required by the P6. This also results in greater vignetting, and a reduction in the speed (the f-stop increases by about 20% - the f5.6 becomes about f6.7, and the f8 becomes about f9.5). The 600mm f8 Arsat is different, and rather better, in that it was originally designed as a P6 lens. It should perform well on your M645.

Thanks everyone for the feedback.