I am new to portrait lighting and am currently setting up a small children's

studio. I have two white walls to shoot against and plan on hanging a large

black muslin on a curtain track for a 3rd wall. I love the look of "skin on

black" portrait photography. I found some great examples on this

photographer's website: http://www.linnealenkus.com/index.html

Can anyone tell me how to acheive this lighting? i.e. how many lights,

softbox, camera settings, etc. Before you say, "Ask the photographer", that

never works. I have contacted several photographers who's lighting I admired

and have never once gotten a response back.

Start with a modeling/primary softbox or umbrella 45 deg off center about 4' from your subject 3' overhead with a fill softbox etc. about 10 deg off center the other side 15' back and at head heigth to fill the shadows and work from there. You can always bounce the fill backwards off your white walls for better diffusion. When I shoot against black I like to add a highlight honeycomb behind the subject to contrast the hairline against the background, but I like high key.

Jack<div>00LcWo-37120984.thumb.jpg.305435ba57d10d9fba6fda0a438b6d18.jpg</div>

1. black background far enough from any lights to stay dark.

2. large controled source of main light (could be: softbox, umbrella or anything that is not allowing light to hit more than 1 side.

3. a meduim size accent light to highlight 1 area opposite the main light.

You can do a lot with one softbox and a reflector (could be foamcore) I like the look of some

hairlight in shots like that. Put the softbox on 45 degree and if you don't have a boom a light

45degrees behind but pretty high up pointing at the head of the subject. I like the look as it

seperates the subject from the backgound.

O.-- As you can see from how different Jack Wagner's shot is from your specified examples, there is a whole lot more to this than first meets the eye.