Manual Settings - Which Ones?

wilbur_wong

My other camera is 4 x 5, I use a spot meter and take 5 minutes to an hour to

set up a shot and I have been doing so for 35 years.

I recently purchased a 5D along with L level lenses for different types of

photography than what is appropriate for a completely thought out composition

with carefully weighed parameters which affects the end result. In the first

few weeks since I have had the 5D, I have found multiple shortcomings for my

allowing the camera to take complete or partial control. Automatic mode went

out the second day and now several weeks later I have found shortcomings at

times with automatic white balance, exposure, focus, aperture, speed, etc.

I recognize on the 5D that there are quick light source settings (shade for

example) and so forth. I am virtually now considering going down to full

manual. Although even doing manual focus, there are niceities of having focus

confirmation occur by the camera, and I am very impressed by the Canon 5D's

capabilities. However, I see that I have been beguiled and seduced by the "most

of the time" correct decisions made by the camera and had started shooting

mostly in "P" mode early on, with occasional diversions to Av and Tv. Also, I

have at the minimum have started to shoot with the mode just past "ON" most of

the time (don't know what to call that, the switch looks like a slash followed

by an overline).

For rapidly changing photographic situations, the automation is a tremendous

advantage since I can not respond as fast as the camera is capable. However

most situations should allow intelligent selections by the photographer.

I would like to know from experience photographers who have been using this or

similar DSLR's and who shoot in RAW mode, what optional settings do you like to

set manually for what percentage of time, and why do you select these as the

manual variations? Conversely, which settings do you allow to go on automatic