Published with no Credit

I am an amateur photographer and the technical director of our school drama

program and took photos during a recent trip with our students to the New

England Drama Festival. I sent a group picture to two local papers and both

published them. One credited me with the photos and the other published the

photo with no credit. <p>

I was mildly perturbed by this and am wondering what are the legalities of

publishing in this manner are. I did send the photo to the reporter with

permission to use it. I was just expecting a citation such as "Photo courtesy of

XXXX.

<P>

I suppose that my chagrin is mostly academic as there was no money involved. I

was just looking forward to seeing my name associated with a published picture (

a nice one I might add). <P>

Should there have been a citation?

Contact the offending paper and politely request credit for the photograph. They may publish a "correction" in the next issue. Worth a try.

I'll offer this from personal experience: When you give your images away, you lose control over them. I once gave a whole role of film to someone who promised me credit in a national publication. You can guess what (didn't) happen.

Phil

sorry for your bad experience! i recently had an experience opposite yours, in that one of my shots was/is to be used in a national publication and without my asking... was told that I would receive credit in whatever form I asked for, e.g., "photo by...", and/or a bio summary. i'm glad you posted this question because it's one i've pondered only lately because I've never been in the position to be published until now. best regards and good luck!

p.s. - it's late, i'm sleepy, and i left out the most important part of what i intended to say. what was so nice about my experience was not the "receiving credit" part...but the fact that these people were thoughtful and considerate enough to ask. wouldn't it be nice if we saw more of that in our world?