Best alternative to Epson cartridges?

As I'm new to the digital darkroom, I'm experimenting with Photoshop and my

r2400 printer (looking at dpi, resampling, etc.). At least during this phase of

my learning, I don't want to buy expensive Epson inks or papers. At a 2 for 1

sale, I picked up some of Staples best 13 x 19 paper. Now, I'd like to find

affordable ink cartridges that will give good results and not harm the printer.

Pantone? Click Inks? Any suggestions? (I'm not ready to look at bulk ink

solutions; I want to stay with cartridges for now.)

Hi Larry, While I'm sure there are some people out there using 3rd party inks with their Epson printers, I've read too many horror stories of people really screwing up their printers with the stuff too. Just my .02 cents but I wouldn't be penny wise and pound foolish with the inks. If things go awry the ink companies blame the printer and Epson's not going to support you using 3rd party inks. Paper's no big deal - inkjetart.com's "micro ceramic" paper is a virtual clone of Epson's in most cases and is much cheaper. Atlex.com has good prices on Epson inks. Good luck!

Another vote for sticking with Epson inks. The K3 inkset is the real reason for the R2400's

desireability. I tried the Staples paper as a test. I ended up tossing half the box in the

garbage as it zsimply didn't work as consistently as the Epson paper I use.

Far as I'm concerned, there's no point to experimenting with inks and papers on the basis of

cost that do not respond consistently ... It's difficult to learn anything that way.

Godfrey

There isn't a good alternative to inks, but I highly recommend testing and using alternative papers. Epson often buys paper from the same suppliers that other companies use and they are virtually identical, except that only Epson uses their brand name for huge markups.