Military Leicas for the U.S. Army Signal Corps.

andy_coach

Leica also produced a "Photo journalist" kit for the US Army photographers, it was stamped KE7A on the top plate, it came with a 35mm, 50mm, and 90mm lens and the body was an M4 - they are like hens teeth yet when I worked as a PJ for the US based in West Berlin between 1980 and 1991, one of my colleagues had one of the kits that he had purchased very cheaply when the military sold them off.

I am inclined to suspect that if it is a genuine military camera it is a "liberated" IIIc if it was acquired during or shortly after WW2. OTOH it may well be a civilian model, but there weren't many Leicas (at least late models) in civilian hands. A year or so after the NAZI surrender some Leicas began to become available through the PX's. There is little likelihood that it was US Armed Forces issue. If it was German military issue it would bear the engraving of the branch it was issued to (See Lager or Haney for description of military cameras). I doubt if US forces were issued Leicas until well after the occupation had ended.

My boyhood friend was in the army around 1956 and 1957. He was stationed some where in New Mexico and worked doing something in photography. I remember one day years ago he told me they used Leica gear. Not only cameras but enlargers ect, ect. I got the impression they where just Leica photo gear confiscated after ww2. No special models. No special markings. Gus.

Sorry all, I forgot to give you a serial number, etc. The information I have been able to develop from various internet sources is that this cameral is one of 500 which were purchased from Leitz to be used in the pacific campaign's close.

Anyway, I'll upload a number of pictures for your comments and edification.

Leo<div>00KKXR-35477484.jpg.0251b32e3d616858d9bb801c234490ad.jpg</div>

"Leica also produced a "Photo journalist" kit for the US Army photographers"