reversing adapter vs. extension tube vs. add-on macro lens?

paul_ferrante

I am new to this so please excuse my ignorance. I have done some searching but

am still unclear. I have a D80 but am financially tapped right now so can't

afford a decent macro lens. My question is: what are the

advantages/disadvantages to lens reversing attachments, glassless extension

tubes and macro lens attachments (glass)?

Also, when I get the money (months down the road) what is a decent but

inexpensive macro lens to buy?

Hi Paul. If you just want to play with macro photography a bit, a reversing ring or tubes are fun. The reversing ring is limited in its use because you have little control over focus, but you can get quite close up (from memory, a 35mm lens reversed will about fill up the image). Extension tubes are a good way to go, but they won't give you auto-use of lenses, and you'll find themselves switching them a lot. One you didn't mention is bellows. This is my preferred macrophotography tool, but generally it gives a lot of magnification (more than you may want). The real way to go is a Micro Nikkor lens. The 60mm is a great lens for your D80, but you'll find yourself using it in manual focus mode anyway because close up subjects will cause it to hunt for focus. You could also find them used, or even use the old 55mm AI Nikkor in f/2.8 or 3.5. It's a good lens too.

I used a reversing attachments for several times and sold it

this gives very nice magnification, but is hard to use because you don't have focus control and sometimes - depends on the body - you don't have metering - I don't know how it would be with D80 but on my f55 I hade to choose the apperture and the shutter speed alone

after that I bought macro lens - these are great for the reasons I said already - you have everything - AF, metering... and also gives nice picture

now I have macro lens - 60mm micro and I can honestly say this is the best of all ;)