Lies, damned lies, and statistics

danbliss

Ok, I am relatively new to the site, but I am having a lot of fun here (although it was depressing that I got

handed a few of 3/3's on a couple of my best photos, killing the averages of those photos. Alas...).

I know the site started out as Philip's web site, and he is a MIT computer scientist, so I am guessing that

while this primarily an artistic site, that there is, underneath, something of an appreciation for scientific

thinking. That is a long winded way of introducing the following question: Is there some sort of analysis

of the contributions that is available to the average user. Clearly the numbers are huge. I thought there

might be some interesting social significance to the flow of artistic images. If you hadn't guessed already,

I'm a researcher at MIT. Anyway, I thought it might be fun to analyze the data.

Just thinking out loud,

Dan

I think first you would have to have data. And secondly, I think you would have to have reliable data. Determining the social significance of a depressing 3/3 vs a non-depressing 7/7 would certainly be a challenge.

Well, it's a great idea, Dan. I think you should pursue it.

Just say what questions you think are interesting to answer and what data you want to answer the question and we can probably provide it. The whole rating thing started out as a one-morning "fun thing to add" and turned into a nightmare with people registering fake accounts, building rating robots, etc.

It is clear from most of the people who contribute to the site feedback forum that ratings are NOT what attract people to the site. What attracts people to the site are critiques, after all that is why we submit photographs for 'critique.' Perhaps it would be interesting if there was a choice to 'Submit for Rating Only' to see how many would actually do this!