What flash to buy for a wedding?

john_kramer3

I have never used a flash before, but I am going to shoot my sister's wedding

and realize that a flash is probably a necessary piece of equipment for

something like this. Since I will never use the flash again afterwards, I'd

prefer to get something cheap, but obviously care very much about the success of

the photos. I have a 5d with a 17-40 and 70-200 2.8 isl

Can I get away with a $100 220EX? What would the issues be with choosing this

model versus a more expensive flash? Any guidance/advice would be appreciated.

1) Don't do it. If you don't know much about flash, just don't do it. -- The wedding that is.

2) If you decide to shoot the wedding anyway, you need to learn about flash, among many other things. Hopefully you know most of those already. But get the flash and start practicing right away.

3) Chances are you won't use much flash for the ceremony, but more for the reception. Flash is also often used for the processional, kiss and recessional. For the ceremony you mostly want fast lenses. You might want to buy Canon's little 50mm f/1.8.

4) The 220EX does not tilt or swivel. That makes for a rather limited flash unit - no bounce, no reflectors/diffusers, etc. Also, it's not very powerful. Not as weak as many think, but still not very good. Even for a one time use a too weak flash is still too weak. Fortunately, the 5D has clean high ISO's.

5) Perhaps you can rent a 580EX for the day. If so, rent it for a couple days a week or so ahead of time to get used to it and find out what you can do with it.

6) Do a Google search for "dragging the shutter" and try that with the flash.

7) Weddings require a lot of vertical format shooting. That places the flash off to the side where it ought not to be. You might want to consider a rotating flash bracket and Canon's Off Camera Shoe Cord 2.

Hmmm, this is getting expensive for a one time affair. Perhaps you should re-read #1.

Hi John,