High speed flash to keep up with 5 frame per second rate

mike_willis1

Shooting indoor high school basketball, I'll shoot at 5 frames per second,

which is necessary to get the action, but some of the high school gyms are not

that bright so I use flash. I am already using a 300mm f2.8 lens. So I find

that the first frame or second is the right exposure, but there after nothing.

I have three SB28 speedlights available but they can't obviously keep up, but

do you guys have suggestions as to how to either configure a SB28, or what to

keep up with that speed. Do you guys know of something that can work with

multiple flashes to do this? Maybe sequentially fire the flashes to give them

recovery time, but what piece of equipment can do this?

5 fps is not at all necessary to get the action. The key to sports photography is anticipating the action and its peak. I was a newspaper photographer in a previously life, shooting basketball, baseball and football for a living and -- while it would have been a nice luxury -- never had need of a motor drive. Also, a 300 is way to long for basketball for all but a handful of shots. You shoot basketball from under the net with anything from a 35 to a 105 and wait for the action to come to you. At least that's what I did, what my colleagues did and what I still see people shooting today.

i would say you must be far from the person with a 300mm

and that would use a lot of flash power to go the distance.

i would try up close on sidelines etc,with a lens in the 50mm range with no flash and i think you will like it better.i think if you start blasten at the players with 2or 3 lights they might come at

ya with a stick lol. try the 50mm

I shoot karate events several times a year and face the same problems.