Sharp Portrait Lens for Infant Photography

giggles

Sorry for redundacy but I have been searching previous posts and

haven't not found that piece of advice that would make me confident

so I am posting another "help me buy a lens quesiton".

I am a newbie children's portrait photographer that uses a D70

(hoping to upgrade to D200 soon). I have the kit lens and a 70-300

telephoto lens. I am looking to purchase a prime lens that produces

sharp/crisp results especially in high key situations. I plan to use

it for head shots or upper body shots of the children against white

backdrops. I get close to my subject and never use a tripod. An idea

of what I am striving for can be found at www.imagesoflove.com - her

style is my ultimate goal. Which lens would you recommend? The 50,

85, or 105? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'd recommend 2 lenses. The 50 f1.8 for working up close and the 85 if you've got a little room.

The 105's are good, but the sharpest of them won't meter on your D70 (the 2.5 AI-S) and they're a bit long for indoors on a DSLR.

I've just completed a shoot of kids for a gardening magazine and took everything with a Nikkor AFD 35mm F2.0 on a D2X. This did allow some slightly wider crops but you can also get in close as this lens focuses down to about 15cm. If you don't want to scare the kids so much you could use the Nikkor AFD 50mm F1.4 for some tighter crops, although you can't focus as close as with the 35mm lens. I've found both these lenses to be very sharp on the D2X so would expect similar results on the D70. You can pick up these lenses very cheaply at the moment, at least in the UK.

For the tight close-ups, you might consider the 60 Micro. Otherwise, I would think the 50 or maybe the 85. I suspect the 105 would be too long for what you want to do. What focal lengths do you mostly use on the 70-300? That should give you a good idea of what focal length you'd want to look for.