Question about lighting a sterling tea set to minimize reflections

battra92

Hi there. I'm not 100% if this goes here but it is related to lighting.

Part of my day job is working with silver pieces and photographing

them for our catalogs and website. We do sell a few sterling tea

services and I have found it nearly impossible to get a decent setup

where there is little reflection.

Polarizers can only do so much and I still have to clone out the

camera and equipment reflections. So what would be a good way to light

this, or something to block the light on the silver but would not

damage it.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

As GArry pointed outthere are many threads in this forum which dea with this and

similarsubjects. The basics are : light indirectly as much as possible --try to keep your

lights overhead , which means you'll need a boom of some sort to mount the light on--

and build a large white or dull silver reflective house with a translucent ceiling around your

set. Cut a hole just large enough for the lens to look through.

Thanks for the info.

For small pieces of flatware (forks, spoons, etc.) which require a top down photo, I built a light box with cardboard and tissue paper for the diffusers on the side and get fairly good results. (see photo below) So building a larger such box should give me the results I want then?

Thanks for the help. :)<div>00DyHo-26215184.jpg.bb868a2baa9edf9bf9a3333b1f901d0a.jpg</div>

Building a larger box would give you more of the same, it would just allow you to photograph larger items.

If that's what you want, fine - but if you want to do better you'll have to learn how to light, using short lighting to both produce diffused specular highlights and reveal the texture, as in the links I've suggested

The attached soilverware still life was lit using a Plume Cocoon (same thing as red Wing

Cocoonn) and three heads on a Profoto D4r pack.