<p>The manual implies that the camera will set the subject distance

and aperture so that anything covered by any of the 9 AF points will

be within DOF. But what I found, doing some playing with it, is that

often only <em>some</em> of the AF points seem to be used. I can

compose so that the AF points cover a wide range of distances,

half-depress the shutter release, and get f/5.6; do it again, without

recomposing (handheld, but with the AF points clearly still covering a

wide range of distances), and get f/32. I can get a virtually

unlimited number of different apertures if I keep going long enough.

If I take several pictures this way, there are huge differences in DOF

between pictures.</p>

<p>DEP, at least, was repeatable; if I picked the same near and far

points twice in a row, I'd get the same aperture twice in a row.

A-DEP doesn't seem to have this characteristic. Does anyone else find

this?</p>

A-DEP is pretty useless unless you're a total newbie who wouldn't know an f-stop from a hole in the ground.

For maximum DOF with acceptable sharpness, just stop down to f16.

DEP was much better. I don't know why they dropped it. I guess selecting focus twice was more than total newbies could handle.

A-DEP is so bad it should be on the other half of the dial with the other "Idiot Modes" like Portrait, Landscape, etc.<p>The few times I've tried it, after letting A-DEP select the focus and exposure, I took the usual forum advice of applying those settings in Manual mode (but adjusting the shutter/aperture to get the same exposure value at a narrower aperture than the reading, to be more certain of adequate DOF) and switching off AF before taking the shot. Too much hassle, when simply focusing 1/3 to 1/2 way into the desired areas of focus and stopping down the aperture in other modes usually works just as well.<p>As far as using the 9 AF points, the manual points out:<i><br>