Bracket for 10D/580EX

malcolmdwyer

<p>I'm an amateur and I'll be shooting my first wedding next weekend.

It's my wife's cousin's wedding, and I'll be doing reception only.</p>

<p>I'm thinking of getting a flash bracket. I'm not looking to spend

a lot of money, but the following set up seems reasonable. I have a

10D and the 580EX flash. I'll need the off-shoe cord right? Can

anyone confirm for me that this is all I will need? I'm not

forgetting anything am I?</p>

<p><a

href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=105119&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation">Stroboframe

Bracket - Camera Flip</a> [$69.95]<br>

<a

href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=12972&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation">Canon

Off Camera Shoe Cord 2, 60cm (2ft.), TTL Off-Camera Flash Cable for

All EOS Cameras (Except 630 and RT Models)</a> [$49.95]</p>

<p>Any other models I should consider that are in that pricerange?</p>

<p>And... just to throw a totally unrelated question in here... will I

love the Canon 28mm/1.8 for an available light "normal" lens with my

1.6 crop 10D? (I currently have 17-40/4L, 50/1.4, 70-200/4L).</p>

<p>Thanks,<br>

Malcolm</p>

Of course it would be nicer if you had 2.8 or faster lenses. The 16-35, 10D, 580EX makes a great combo. You can bounce your flash and use the Speedlite's built-in wide-angle diffuser. No need for a bracket whatsoever. Shoot at ISO400, M mode of 1/60 f/5.6 to 3.5 indoors, with flash bounce. Let the camera and flash worry about the exposure when in manual mode and you ought to get excellent results.

I really disliked the Camera Flip and Folding Flip models. Tried 'em several times at local shops with my D2H and F3HP and we just couldn't get along.