Benefits of Elan 7n over Rebel T2?

claytontullos

I am looking to purchase a camera for myself and am looking to

purchase one quite soon. I will be purchasing along with the camera

the 50mm 1.8 M2 lens.

I am a beginner as far as SLR's are concerned and I honestly don't

understand the various benefits of the Elan over the Rebel. Money is

an issue and currently the Elan is at the top end of my budget.

Suggestions would be welcomed and appreciated.

I don't propose to know all the details of the T2, but I own a 7N. I went into the store intending to buy the Ti (the predecessor to the T2). The T2 came out after my purchase of the 7N, and when I look back, if the T2 was out I probably would have bought it.

All that being said, I love my 7N. I really like the dual control wheels, and the idea that you can rewind the roll in the middle and leave the leader out - then put the roll back in and keep going (switch film in the middle!). The mirror lock up is good for slow shutter shots. I think those are the biggest differences. Most of the other stuff like the AF and metering are the same I believe.

The Elan7N is my first SLR as well, in the end it is always better to spend the extra $$ on glass, but it depends on what you want to do. Shutter speeds from 1 sec. to 1/30 sec. would benefit from mirror lockup (silky waterfalls). Quick reactions in manual mode would benefit from the dual control wheels. If light changes or you don't tend to burn a roll all at once - it is nice to be able to switch - I do it all the time.

I know someone who had to have the dual control wheels - more pro., and easier to use. I also know some one else who is perfectly happy to operate on 1 control wheel and thinks about the $$ saved. (This is really a comparison of 2 people- one bought the 20D and the other bought the Rebel XT - so there is a bigger difference on $$)

I say go for the Elan 7N - but I could understand choosing the T2.