Spot Meter 5° okay?

jim_foley4

Hi,

I'm looking for an inexpensive spotmeter for general landscape

work. It seems that the 1ï¾° meters may be out of my range. I have a

Sekonic L-718. Would the 5ï¾° attachment for this meter be suitable

for most situations? I realize there are a lot of variables

involved but based on your experience what are your thoughts?

Thanks.

Jim

Five degrees seems a little big. The Sekonic L-558 only has a one degree spot, which seems to be the norm for most spot meters. I have an L-508 with a variable angle, but only use the one degree setting.

The 508 is a nice meter. See if you can find an used one.

I have a Polaris with the 10 degree attachment. I make do with it just fine. 5 degrees would be better. I have never ran into a situation where I really needed a 1 degree. Half the time I just Sunny f16 the exposure. Remember, one of Ansel Adams most famous photos, Moonrise, was taken without an exposure meter. He couldn't find his in the car.

Brian I take it you don't shoot with a telephoto much then. Cause when using a lens with a 10 degress field of view a 10 degree spot meter ain't much of a spot.

I have a Sekonic 508L and find the 1 degree setting very useful with my long glass.

Sekonic used to sell a variable 1-5 degree meter. They dropped the variable capability because very few people used it at 5 degrees. Get the smaller angle if you can, but if you simply can't, you can live with 5 degrees, for sure.

I shoot 4x5 landscapes and own one of these 5 degree digital spot meters.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=NavBar&A=getItemDetail&Q=&sku=247140&is=REG&si=spec#goto_itemInfo