Technic or Arstistry?

I just want to know how many of you are actually learning photography

through the technical details and how many just going by the instinct

and creative spur?

I'm a newbie and to tell you the truth I don't think I want to know

about the distance that I have to have for a certain light to work

with a csertain camera, all that stuff.

Does that make me a creative driven photographer or a slack?;)

If you don't know it, it makes you a beginner.

If you don't WANT to know then it makes you a slack.

Technique and creativity are not different things - the former is put in the service of the latter.

Consider the case of music. Could one claim that I have divine melodies swelling up in my soul but I don't have the patience to learn piano technique - I'll just go at it with one finger? OTOH, there are people with fantastic techique who just don't 'get' music.

-A

I think that many people use a combination of self-education, formal education, peer assistance, and practical experience, any of which may take precedence at any time in their lives as photographers.

You may feel that the rules of photography are not worth learning, and that is your choice. You should be prepared to find that no one likes your work very much, creative though I am sure it will be.

Best,

Wiggy

Im just learning too. But everytime I go out to shoot I think of something I want to try and im not sure how it will come out... this very often leads me to the books or online to look it up.... sort of a "hunt and peck" self education. ;) Im finding that the more I learn about the limitations of my cameras and lenses the faster I can react when im out shooting, and the better I am at judging whats a "do-able" scene and not worry about wasting film. My guess is eventually you will run into something that makes you a little more curious about your equiptment... and who knows, that could open you up to a whole new realm to experiement in. :)