69 slides?

ben conover

Hi, I am new to photography, I love it. I have shot slide film in 69

format and I am a confused as to what I can do with the slides, the

film is still all in the fridge......

How much would it cost to scan a 69 slide with best scanner? Drum?

Are lantern projectors very expensive or rare?

What is the best or most efficient use of 69 slides?

Many thanks to all.

Hi Ben,

Why are you kepping the exposed film in the fridge? You should gte them developed ASAP. Once developed, you shouldn't keep them in the fridge.

If you are going to be maikng 6x9 slides regularly, you may consider getting a flat bed scanner. Professional scans can cost you something around $100 (depending on the quality) for each frame.

I am not aware of any 6x9 projectors. 6x6 projectors are common but not inexpensive.

Cheers!

Thanks Vivek, Wow, that's expensive beyong belief...so yes I will get the film proccessed asap. I was considering sending it all (tech pan and other stuff) off to dlab7, are they good? A good flatbed seems the only way to go with slides then, although I am still unsure if I will continue with slides in 69 format. Seems like a slow b/w film is better suited to 69 format, for me. I am most interested in environmental portraits.

Cheers!

If you spend US$2000 or so on a Nikon 9000, you will able to produce enormous files and breathtakingly sharp (assuming your slides are sharp) 16x24" prints. That's just a tad over a 7x enlargement, and, IMHO, anything much over 7x from film is getting into an area where you have to ask if your viewers will be walking up to the print or not. Up close, a 300 ppi print of a 4000 ppi scan looks pretty soft, but from 6x9, that's a 28x42" print. You may not mind the softness in that large a print.

Of course, getting adequately sharp slides requires care (DOF is a lot less than your lens markings indicate), and scanning's an incredible pain. And there's a lot to learn about processing the scans.