Camera for Wedding Photography

haunting_your_thoughts

Hello, I am currently the owner of a Digital rebel XT and in the

future intend to upgrade to a 20D. I brought the XT so that I can

develop my skills as a photographer since I am new to the field.

<br>At the same time, I regret that I brought the XT instead of the

20D since I keep seeing that most wedding pro's use the 20D.

<br>Can I use the DRXT as a wedding photography camera? or is it

completely unfeasable for me to use it?

<br>Next on the agenda... I am out lens hunting to upgrade my kit

lens of 18-55 mm. What lens would be recomended as a really good all-

rounder wedding lens. My budget can extend to $1500 and I would like

something that's of awesome quality. At the same time I dont want to

be too confined in the wide-angle department. I can buy more than one

lens if I have to.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jake The Snake

Any camera will work - the question is - can you work the camera? In starting out, i do not see anything wrong with the XT. Do a search and see the results of some experienced users that use the rebel - one fine photographer here at p.net that comes to mind is Pavel Krukov, which can be found here:

http://www.photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=479641

some of his first photos posted were with the 300D - as you can see, he can work the equipment.

As far as lenses are concerned. I would suggest the Tamron 28-75 2.8 ($350) and the Sigma 70-200 2.8 ($800-900). You do not have to have the expensive L lenses to have the L optics (as you can see from Pavel's photos - he uses the 70-200 a lot. To go wide, the sigma 15-30 3.5 ($550) is a darn good performer. I've got all three of these lenses and if they are not sharp - it's my fault 100% of the time. That's my .02 - good luck.

You touched on the heart of the issue when you said, "develop

your skills as a photographer".

It still comes down to having the creative and technical skills to