Birders Discover They're the Ones Being Watched

paul -

Doesn't surprise me. I still have trouble elucidating the problem for my cousin, who knows I'm a photographer and doesn't see anything wrong with what I'm doing when I photograph wildlife around our lakefront.

But I'm "me" and all those other photographers are potentially suspicious. Therefore it's okay for the government to crack down on everyone else. I try to explain that the government won't exempt me simply because she knows and trusts me. Once liberties are taken from other Americans, we all lose.

Then we get into the more complex issues of Americans vs. "them foreigners" residing in the U.S. and how difficult it can be to restrict non-Americans without placing similar restrictions on citizens because we Americans don't all look alike. There's a local fellow of Indian or Pakistani descent who operates a convenience store. I trust him a lot more than I do some of the white "good ol' boy" types I've known of for years who consider themselves to be outskirt outlaws, on the fringe of the crystal methamphetamine trade, burglarizing for a living, etc. Sure, they're "Americans", God bless their point li'l heads, but they're still undesirables and prolly should be transferred to Gitmo for a few months of ass-kicking.

Ok, I'm a birder, too, and hate to see areas shut off. I also like not being blown up or having it happen to you.