First time slide film user - please help

I've recently purchased my first roll of slide film (Velvia 100F).

Since I'm a beginner, I could use some advice on shooting with this

type of film. I'm mainly interested in nature (butterflies,

flowers, birds, etc) and I use an old Canon EOS Rebel G camera with

an EF 70-200mm F/4 USM lens. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

As your camera is auto-exposure, what kind of advise do you want? Load film in camera, frame your subject, focus (or auto-focus), release shutter.

Okay, a bit of free advise: Don't use Velvia for fair skin people shots. Don't forget that you possibly cannot hand-hold shutter speeds longer than your focal length (i.e., at 200mm shoot with 1/250 sec or better way faster). A good background makes or breaks a great image. Get a macro prime lens for best results. Have the film developed at a pro lab.

Bueh - actually, I do have the manual exposure option in my camera.. Thanks for your advice, but let's assume I got past the loading film/frame subject stage... I know that slide films have less exposure latitude compared to print films and that bracketing is recommended with slide films. But I'm also curious to hear which slide films work well with wildlife/nature subjects and any other recommendations. Thanks!

Slide film works the opposite of color negative film when it comes to exposure latitude. With negative film you want to err on the side of overexposure. Slide film will not tolerate overexposure -- the highlights "blow out" and if you overexpose too much the light subject matter becomes clear and there's nothing on the film to recover an image from. If you slightly underexpose slide film, the colors get richer and it looks a little better unlike negative film where it would get muddy. Bracketing plus or minus a stop maybe even in half stop increments is much more important with slide film that negative.