Advice: move to autofocus or not

h._shafi

Hi,

I'm pretty new to medium-format photography. Most photographs I take

these days are of my children (35mm film, MF film, and some digital).

I find that I'm missing out on a lot of great photos while I'm

focusing my manual focus Mamiya 645E. Is it worthwhile to switch to

an AF system (e.g., Pentax 645Nii or Mamiya 645 afd)? One of the

biggest lessons that I've learned so far with 645 is the shallower

depth-of-field. Will relying on an all-auto system make this problem

worse? Will I still be able to easily focus on "eyes" for example and

is the AF mechanism in the above 2 systems as fast as 35mm equivalents?

Thanks in advance.

-Haz

Moving children are probably one of the most difficult subjects you can photograph. AF medium format lenses don't quite match the speed of the best 35mm AF lenses, due to their greater size. Also the shallower DOF in medium format works against you. I found that manual focus using the hyperfocal method works best, forget about focusing on the eyes, you can never track them accurately anyway. Even if the best 35mm AF lens is fast enough to focus on them, by the time the shutter fires, the face has already turned away.

Just use a small digicam (advantage of small sensor and bigger DOF) that has manual focus capability, and shoot hyperfocal distance.

That's the problem. The camera doesn't know what an eye is, or a nose, or much of anything else. To be sure of getting that part of the image that you want in focus, you need manual focus. Unless Mamiya is doing something similar to what Canon does, which allows the camera to see what part of the frame your eye is looking at and focuses there, it's hit or miss, usually miss.