From hobby to career.....

wilvoeka

Hello all.

Ive been reading through the forums here for some time and finally signed up.

Heres a little background about myself before I ask you for some feedback.

I have been a avid hobbist for many years. I shot and developed my first

photos in elementry school as part of a class I had in the sixth grade, and

really never lost interst since. I atteded the Ohio Institue of Photography

were I majored in Commercial photography, but also minored in Portraiture and

digital imaging.

Due to circumstances beyond my control I will soon find myself without

gainfull employement. On the plus side though I will be recieving a

substantial severance package which will help me eliminate alot of debt and

leave me with a modest amount left over.

My wife thinks I should take this oppurtunity to make a career out of my love

of photography. Ive done paying work in the past. Ive done work for Community

theaters, weddings, Softball teams, Web graphics and Photo restorations.

So here is where I'd like to get some opinions from those that regularly make

a living with thier cameras.

Since I am just starting out I would like to stay as flexible as possible

until I find my niche.

I currently own a Canon 10D, 300 f/4L, 200 2.8L, Tamron 90mm Macro and a canon

28-200 USM. I am considering selling all this gear and starting fresh. I also

have 2 420ex speedlights and a set of Studio Strobes I will be keeping.

Im considering...

Lenses

17-40L

50 1.4 USM or a 85mm

70-200L

100mm Macro USM

2X Converter

Flashes

580EX

ST-E2 Transmitter

Bodies....

This is where it gets diffacult I will have the money to buy any of the Canon

bodies. I really cant decide if I should....

Buy a 30D and keep my 10D as my secondary

Buy a 5D and keep the 10D..

Buy a 1D Mark IIN " "

Or buy 2 30Ds or a 1D Mark IIN and a 30D.

Having the money doesnt mean I want to spend it haphazardly, but I also dont