Rechargeable AA NimH and Quick Chargers

I bought some Energizer Rechargeable AA batteries today with an Energizer Compact Charger. To charge

my batteries with this charger takes 8.5 hours. I know about one hour chargers, but I remember reading

somewhere to avoid them. Is this correct? (I can't find the source of that info anymore.)

Surely with a one hour charger something has to give. Can anyone throw some light on this for me?

I bought my RayoVac one hour battery charger five years ago along with three sets of batteries. I got batteries coming out my ears and when I misplace some my charger charges the dead ones in about an hour, they feel hot when there first charged but they go forever I think and this charger is great. Best thing that ever happened, I download with batteries all the time too. I got endless juice.

I am not an expert on this subject. I have read that the 'fast' rechargers do not get the final 5% or 8% of juice in the battery - kind of like filling your gas tank up on full speed versus sneaking it in slowly. As well, some say that the heat is detrimental to the battery's lifespan on the fast chargers.

The 'smartest' AA NiMH rechargers are supposed to be those with small electronic brains that sense the true state of the battery and apply charge accordingly. I am have been pleased with the ones I found recommended on Steve's Digicams (www.steves-digicams.com) at Thomas Distributing (http://www.thomasdistributing.com/index.htm).

However, having said that, I can also say that I have grown tired of AA batteries that don't last long enough. I switched to rechargeable CR-V3 Li-Ion batteries in place of AA's in whatever devices I have that can physically hold them. I've ignored warnings about overpowering the devices with greater than 3 v (so this is my caveat: warning, warning, warning), but have not suffered any ill effects, and my battery life is way way better and I'm a happy guy.