reasonable cost to process E-6?

hello all,

i have zero experience in using color slides since i've always used color

negatives. i'm interested in using color slides for the first time, but i have

no idea what is a reasonable cost to have 24 frames processed.

i called pephoto.com (the same ppl who process my prints) and they gave me a

quote of $8.99 for processing, plus $9.99 if i want to have the slides scanned

onto CD.

are these reasonable charges? the cost to scan to CD sounds extravagant, because

getting a photo CD with my prints just adds 99c to the cost of print negatives.

will i be getting my money's worth in terms of the quality of the scanned images?

also, are there other places you can recommend for the processing of ektachromes?

thank you all.

ryan

Processing sounds a bit steep. Fuji mailers used to cost <$5/roll, although I haven't used one in a while and don't know if their processing is still working. A&I in LA costs $8/$9 for sleeved/mounted.

What is the resolution and bit depth of those scans. I'm betting that they are quite low resolution and 8-bit images, but without knowing, it is hard to say if $10 is extortion or a great deal. What do you use the scans for?

It varies. Some labs do a great job and don't charge much... other labs do a terrible job and charge an arm and a leg.

Fuji (via Wal-Mart) charges about $5 for processing slide film (36 exposures), and $3 extra if you want a CD. The scans aren't great, but usually good enough for posting on the web or making a 4"x6" print. The quality of the film processing itself is usually very good.

If you want really good scans, you'll be much better off buying a film scanner and doing it yourself. Minilab scans generally suck in comparison. They're designed for speed, not quality.

hello,

thanks for the responses. i am located in brooklyn, ny so any lab in the NYC area should be ok for me.