Grad ND and Polarizer filter

beau_s

Dear all,

I am pretty new with filter. After having done some reading on these forum, I

am now convinced to go with a Cokin P system and save up for a 2 stop soft

Singh Ray GND. My question is on the Polarizer. Which polarizer do you

recommend to go with the Cokin P and which brand? What is the different in

quality between Singh Ray and Hitech?(is it the same different as in GND?)

Last is it normal to use both of these filters together and if so in what

situation or is it more of a choice depending on the situation?

Many thanks in advance

Whilst I'm not the world's biggest Cokin fan I have used their polarisers and consider them OK. I'm not saying I wouldn't rather have a B+W mrc or a Hoya Super Pro 1, but if you're working to a tight budget you'll learn more about polarising using one of these than having none. They're a sight better than most other cokin products anyway.

I would be inclined not to use a polariser and a grad together because the effect on the sky will tend to be too strong.

Given a choice between Singh Ray and HiTech grads if it were my money I'd buy the HiTech. Come to think of it it is sometimes my money and I do buy HiTech. They are the same optical resin as Singh Ray. There is possibly a greater chance of a slight colour cast but I've always found Formatt (who make them ) ready to exchange if things aren't quite right. You can get a set of three hard or soft edge at a particularly good price.