umbrella placed approx. 3 feet from subject directly in front of

them, light shot through translucent umbrella set directly to the

subjects right side approx. 2 feet from subject and 1 foot above

shining down from the right side so that I don't get a shadow on my

subject. I'm trying to acheive very even lighting with no shadows

what so ever. I've pretty much done that here but lost my catch

lights in the process. Any suggestions?

Kim

I am still learning about studio light myself and I have been doing mostly high key lighting so I would not be much help on that. It does appear to need more lighting from the front. I place my shoot through white umbrella right in front of them,camera left and at head level. One thing I can help you with is beaware of fingers and hand placement. Her hand would look more attractive and softer if her fingers were pulled together laying across her arm instead of spread out.

Keep up the good work Kim!!!

Elaine Marie

I totally agree with you Elaine. This is my step daughter. I'm lucky if I get her to pose for me at all lol. She's a hard one. You move her head, she moves her shoulders, you move her shoulders, she moves her arms lol. I'm not happy with the placement of her fingers in this photo. but, I just have to live with it! hehe :))

Are you using a light meter? Being able to measure each strobe's output can help you create more dimension which would help with the contrast I think you're after. Having some back lighting would also help. The topic of contrast or "pop" in portraits was recently discussed <a href="http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00Eh5S&tag=">here</a>. It's an interesting thread that might have the info you're looking for.