Printing street photos

mark liddell

I'm new to street photography and I?m liking the freedom of 35mm

handheld and ever changing nature of street shooting.

I usually do landscapes with an RB67 and I pretty much only shoot

b&w now and develop it myself. I have no access to a decent darkroom

so I contact the negs with my digital p&s camera and send off for

prints to be hand done on fibre, which costs serious ??s but the

quality is top notch.

For my street images I definitely don?t want to go down the same

route for prints since quality isn?t so much of an issue (for me)

and I feel it would be a bit of a waste of money since not much

would be gained from it. What are my options? How bad are machine

prints from b&w negs? Do you guys all print your own?

I really don?t want to go down the scanned film route. B&W negs

don?t scan well in my opinion, no matter what anyone says. I tried

it many times and the results were horrible, see

http://www.photo.net/photo/2444041 (delta 400).

Also what size do you typically print?

You can get decent scanned results from film. The only problem is printing! You either have to live with color casts (if you have it printed somewhere without good color management), pay prohibitive ink costs (the HP route), fiddle with ink clogs & tubes (the quadtones/hextones route), or cough for a RIP (the Epson route.)

I use bulk pigmented ink and I personally do not like it. The black density is very lacking, and requires more maintenance than it is worth. Consequently I print very little.

<I>B&W negs don?t scan well in my opinion, no matter what anyone says.</I><P> Well I

say you must be doing something wrong. I have been scanning B&W for over five years

now and there is nothing to it. Of course one has to have the proper equipment and take

the time to learn how to use it.<BR>I have gone to inkjets with Quadtone inks. Oh, I have

been

street shooting for the last 30 years.