Requesting Use of Photo(s)

richard_wilkins

I've been a contributing member of photo.net for the past year. The

last six months I have been focusing on production of my own music

and am currently in search of strong images that compliment my music.

(To this date, none of my own photography adequately expresses what

my music expresses)

I know this forum has a large number of very talented photographers

and I'm curious how I might ask permission to use an image in

combination with the cds of my original compositions I burn here at

home.

Can I post a request in the Classified section of photo.net which

would include a link to my music for interested photographers?

As I mentioned above, I'm just an amateur musician (as well as an

amateur photographer)and am not signed to any label. So as of yet,

there is no money being earned as a result of publication of my music.

If any one here is familiar with the procedure for posting such a

request, I would appreciate any guidance you could offer! Thanks!

Why not try asking people directly? Find pictures that really appeal to you, request their

creator's email address, explain who you are, and see who is (in principle) willing...

That's the easy part, the hard part will be coming up with a legal agreement. Since you're

not exactly making money yet and seem reluctant to pay up front, you'll probably have to

develop a slightly unusual legal agreement.

Off the cuff I would suggest considering some of the following issues:

1. You want the right to use the image in any format (web, print, poster) without

restriction or need to renegotiate the contract amount.

2. However, you will need to flexible on licensing terms so you should expressly include

the photographer's right to re-sell/license the image to anyone else except a direct

competitor

3. You want the right to alter the image as needed to fit your needs (resolution, output

size, colours, etc.)