Does Qimage produce better prints than Photoshop CS?

I am an amateur using Photoshop CS to edit and print my scanned 35mm

shots. Qimage seems to have a following of loyal users who

apparently believe that it's better (for printing) than Photoshop.

Aside from any batch-printing features that Qimage may offer (which

I would hardly use), can it actually produce better prints than

Photoshop CS?

Hi Aaron, I've never used Qimage but it would seem to me that it's more the *person* making the print and not the software that will determine whether it's better or not. Then of course there's the hardware, the inksets, the paper, etc. etc. - choices that no software can make for you, no matter how good. Best wishes . . .

Aaron, this one could run and run if the Qimage news group is anything to go by. I use both and despite wanting to believe the Qimage "technical talk" about native resolution etc, I can't see any difference in absolute quality.

I do still use and like Qimage though - for multiple images or for several different sized versions of the same image QImage is (to me) quicker than firing up Photoshop and provides excellent results.

I tend to to all the editing in PS save the file at the highest quality possible and then run off any future prints through Qimage.

If you make large (significantly over 8x10) prints or print small crops of your 35mm scans,

you might want to give it a try. Qimage's quality promise mainly rests on its

upsampling algorithms. It certainly offers a larger selection of algorithms than PSCS. Are

they actually better? Possibly. But I don't know since I haven't used it myself.

Other than the upsampling and the related sharpening features, I don't see what Qimage

has to offer over PSCS -- they don't even claim any. The rest are convenience features for

batch printing, etc.