Big Picture Lighting Help for a Newbie

john_sack

I am a lurker on this bboard until now, and have learned a good bit

from my reading. But sometimes the big picture is missing, which is

what a newbie like me needs. I have found the teaching responses that

some write to be wonderful. I read them several times.

My main question is about lighting for informal family portraits, in

homes and backyards and such. The issue that has me stumped is

portability of equipment (not weight so much as the need for

electrical supply, i.e., flash vs. strobe vs. monolight), rapid setup

and configuration, and ease of learning/growth. I am pretty sure I

want to use non-continuous lights (though I recognize from many other

posts that it is easier to learn with continuous lights; I'm hoping

digital will help me there).

Background: I am an avid but amateur photography. I use a Canon 20D

and so far have only a 420ex that I use for on-camera work. I

frequently shoot events (such as fundraisers, where people move around

a lot), so have been limited to what I can do with on-camera flash

(and things like omnibounce, etc.).

I decided this holiday season that I would volunteer my time at some

local churches to take photos of families (like the local Hispanic

population) that are far from home and want to send photos home for

the holidays. These photos would be taken in/around/near people's

homes because that's the only place all the people gather. I also

enjoy lighting outdoors to improve a bit on natural light, e.g.,

photos in a local park or in someone's backyard, etc. I suppose

another aspect of this is that I'll be moving from one setting to

another, with my subjects in tow, so whatever tools I use need to be

quick to use, and relatively forgiving (on camera flash with Canon's

new eTTL-II fits this in my experience). I've found that people have

patience for a minute, but not five minutes while I'm setting up a

shot and testing exposures, etc.