tripod has to be a compromise: For taking photos next to heavy traffic

or on vibrating ground we would be off best it the tripod worked as a

damper (requiring big mass and low stiffness to kill low-frequency

vibrations) whereas for leading bumps or wind thrusts as directly as

possible to the ground the tripod should have just the opposite: low

mass and high stiffness. Or am I wrong?

Uli,

Since I have some experience building a camera stabilizing device out of carbon

fiber...I will say that this is a very very complex question that may require expensive

testing and computer modeling to really answer.

From my anecdotal experience, the biggest question of how much vibration has to do

with the length of the poles (or legs). It would seem that the shorter the leg, the less

vibration. And this is generally true. You will find however, that a particular length

may allow the tripod to vibrate in harmony with the camera, producing much more

vibration than normal.

I did not find that there was a substantial difference between aluminum and carbon

fiber poles in the vibration department, at least not nearly as much difference as

length of the poles creates.

It is also possible to build carbon fiber poles with very different stiffnesses depending

on how the fibers are layed out in the process.

Please note also that a stiff and light carbon fiber pole may crush easily in an accident

that does not stress the pole the way it was designed. At least aluminum will bend or

dent.

And don't forget one last consideration. Mass of the tripod. My gut feeling is that the

heavier it is, the better it works to steady the camera. Especially in the wind or

breeze.

So are you totally confused now?