Zone system with digital B&W photography and printing

There aint a lot you can do with it in digital. You just dont have the freedom to map tonal

ranges into a sensor's (film's) density range. Probably about the best you could do is use it

to determine how many different exposures you need to take and later blend in order to

cover the lattitude in the scene.

Even in printing digitally its not going to make a lot of sense (assuming a calibrated

system) as you can achieve pretty much exactly what you want on the monitor before

clicking the button.

Basically, its a system for mapping tonal ranges onto film or paper and digital, like slide

and C-41 films, doesnt have the ability to re-map tonality as you choose.

"You just dont have the freedom to map tonal ranges into a sensor's (film's) density range."

Craig, I'm just starting out in digital photography. I had assumed that the ability to load custom curves into some DSLR's, like Nikon's D100 and D70, might enable one to manipulate the tonal range of the "digital negative".

Curves are applied after the image is taken, and won't help you as you suggest. Otherwise, you can use part of the zone system by checking the tonal range of the subject with a spot meter. Digital behaves like reversal film with regards to highlights. Place any bright objects in which you want detail into zone VII. The dynamic range of digital is so wide (particularly if you use 12-bit capture) that you can recover the shadows in post-processing (but you can't recover blown highlights).

Well, not really before taking the picture, but before downloading it from your camera. From my understanding, the camera uses that curve when generating the JPEG you will later download. The same result could be achieved by shooting RAW and batch processing all your files with the same curve.</p>