Worth it to upgrade to Nikon D90?

naturegirl99

Yes if you need it...

I shot with a D40 for a while and took some great shots. But the D40 couldn't handle some of the lenses I was looking to get into specifically the 50mm 1.4 or the 1.8 at that. No autofocus on these lenses with the D40.

So I step up to the D90 as I don't need th D300 or the 700 just yet.

The D90 handles so much nicer. The giant screen (compared to the D40) is fantastic not only for previewing images but for controlling all your settings. ISO's are very nice and I couldn't be happier with the purchase. I picked up a D80 recently and love it also but the 90 still takes it by a long shot!

I say get a D90...

<p>Nancy, I am also an amateur but feel if I would go professional I would upgrade to the D300 or D700. I would also have to bite the bullet and purchase some serious professional lenses, flashes, and tripod with a ball head. So my question is what do you have for lenses and what type of photography do you want to sell?</p>

<p>Obviously the D90 has quite a few features missing in the D40x. I would take a look at what those features and options are, see how many were important to me, then decide if it's worth the extra money. I certainly wouldn't be upgrading only for a DOF preview but of course, you would be getting much more than that.</p>

<p>the main advantage IMO is the internal motor in the d90, which gives you tremendous versatility in terms of lens selection. there are other differences as well, like two command dials, larger LCD, and more fps.<br>

a d40x>d90 move would be a modest upgrade, as you won't see much difference in IQ at low ISOs. but definitely an upgrade nonetheless. if you plan on expanding your glass arsenal, it's a good idea.<br>

but before upgrading, it's always a good idea to ask yourself, "what can't i do with my current camera"? and "would the $$ i spend on a new body be more useful if i spent it on lenses, external lighting, tripod/ballhead, etc."</p>