who owns the negatives?

chuck_r.

Hi guys, I was wondering if someone here could shed some light on my current

situation.

So I'm just starting out in the photography business, I'm kinda young and I'm

not exactly sure how this goes. I started working for this promotions/pr company

as their in-house photographer of sorts. They're good people, if not a little

inexperienced themselves. It's a new company so there were no contracts signed

or anything, they just give me a paycheck twice a month at best.

Anywho, I shot portraits of two "celebrities" for them, which turned out pretty

good. They said I could use the images for my portfolio, which was great and I

wasn't planning to sell them anyway since I did shoot it for the company, etc.

I was wondering though, since I shot it on film, do I get to keep the negatives?

I assume since I am the photographer and there was no paperwork signed giving up

the rights to the images, I get to keep the negatives. I have a feeling though

that the company is gonna want to keep them, but I'm sure they'd let me take

hi-res scans and prints if I wanted to. In fact, they negs are at the office

right now, stored away. The only issue for me really is the ownership of the

negatives, which I think is pretty important.

I know I could probably just go ask the boss if I could keep them, but I wanna

know if there are any unspoken rules/potential foibles I'm unaware of concerning

situations like this. Plus, I don't see myself working there for very long, so I

don't know how I'm gonna settle this. Should I barge in and demand for the

negatives? Or should I just settle for hi-res scans of my choice (though i could

scan everything, really) which would cost a pretty penny?

Thanks for the wisdom guys.

If you are an employee, the company owns the negs. If they don`t want them, they are yours.

If you are a contracted photog to do a certain job or you sell them usage rights, that should be specified in a contract.