Who owns the copyright on the wedding pictures you take?

I am a UK based wedding photographer and have sometimes wondered about who

actually owns the image. For example, two hotels have contacted me lately to

use some of my photographs for their brochures. They promised me a nice credit

and it's a great free advert. Do I need to contact the people in the

photographs and get their permission (they might say no)? I'm of the opinion I

took the photo so I own it. What do you think? I'd be particularly interested

to hear from a UK based photographer, but all opionions welcome! PS I havent

sold their images, I let the hotels use it for free because of the free

advertising.

David,

As far as I have been able to learn, unless there a signed contract showing consideration (MONEY)in exchange for specific copyright transference, the copyright of a photograph immediately belongs to the photographer even as soon as there is captured a LATENT image, as copyright belongs to the creator in ANY created work.

However, as a society, we have built a great deal of protection not only for the creator, as above in copyright protection, but also some consideration for anyone recognizable in a photograph - they have socially/civilly protected rights, also. They could justifiably sue anyone who uses their image against their will and intention, with the also socially balanced exceptions of use in news reporting, journalism, and even "fine art" sales. Your mileage may vary by location, local laws and custom, and the attitude of any local judge should it come to a court battle.