Which densitometer for B&W?

<p>Hi,<br>

I've been developing the rolls of b&w film I shoot for two years. To determine my EI of several films and define my dev times I've been using the densitometer function included in Vuescan, but, as I'm not sure if this function is accurated, I've decided to buy a densitometer in e-bay.</p>

<p>I mostly develop with PMK so I need a densitometer capable to read color.</p>

<p>What are your recomendations.<br>

Are X-Rite 880<a href="http://cgi.ebay.es/X-RITE-880-COLOR-PROCESS-CONTROL-DENSITOMETER_W0QQitemZ200348431048QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item2ea5b272c8&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1315%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50"> </a> and 890 good for my purposes?</p>

<p>Do I need some kind of card to calibrate the densitometer?</p>

<p>thanks</p>

<p>You may want to also look into a site called LabX. It is an auction site for used scientific equipment. There is a photo section. I have never used this site, except to look around, so I don't know how smoothly things will go, but there was a great variety of equipment when I visited last. A link to the Lab Equipment > Photography page: http://www.labx.com/v2/newad.cfm?catID=104</p>

<p>There's usually a densitometer in there somewhere.</p>

<p >The densitometers you mentioned are strip reading instruments. They are designed to handle pre-exposed and frozen test materials made and sold by all major film makers. These strips are pre-cut to a specific size and pre-exposed in locations that form a specific pattern. It will be difficult for you to use these instruments on films that you have exposed. The size and placement of the points you wish to read will not correspond to locations on the pre-exposed test strip. You need a unit that will allow you to place the probe at locations of your choosing. </p>

<p > </p>