What type of paper is best for larger landscape photos?

<p>I just purchased a new Epson 3880 printer and am not sure what type of paper to buy. I have been printing 8.5 x 11's on my current Epson Artisan 810 using Epson's Ultra Premium Glossy Photo Paper. I'm pretty new at this stuff, but do take my photography seriously. Is there a preferred paper finish for landscape photography? I would like to print the larger size (17 x 22) on my new Epson. Epson doesn't make a 17 x 22 in the Ultra Premium Gloosy, but they do make it in a Luster. I'm guessing there is a reason they don't make the glossy in that size? Which paper would be best for my application? Any help is appreciated...Thanks</p>

<p>It really depends on the subject matter, and on how you'll mounting/displaying the image. Nothing makes me happier than a nice 17x22 piece of Epson's Velvet Fine Art paper. I generally don't like glossy stock, especially on large prints ... just too much glare, especially if it's going to wind up behind glass. The only way to really answer your question is to try some, of course. Remember that when you switch between glossy (or luster) and matte papers, you lose a bit of black ink as the printer does its dance. So, I try to plan my print jobs around doing a bunch of one type or the other. Definitely give VFA a try, though. It's lovely on certain types of subject matter.</p>