What medium are my digital prints?

<p>I have read through the forum, and am still confused. I am entering an art show, and need to label the medium of my work. This is my first time showing something other than prints produced in the darkroom, so I am not sure the standard medium title for digital prints. My images are all color, and some were printed on an CSI LightJet printer on Fuji Crystal Archive paper, and others through Smugmug/EZ Print with a Lustre finish on Kodak Supra Endura paper. To further my confusion, an employee at one of the places told me my color LightJet digital image is still a silver gelatin print (said the paper is still exposed to light). Any input/clarification/ideas on labeling the medium would be most helpful. I was going to say "digital print" but that sounds so unappealing! </p>

<p>I think that optically-produced color prints (whether with a digital enlarger light a Lightjet or Frontier or a conventional enlarger) are not properly described as silver halide because, although the paper comes with silver in it, unlike regular B&W paper, the final image is formed with dyes and no silver remains. People who care probably know what a Lightjet is, so I might use that description, where appropriate.</p>

<p>Susannah,</p>

<p>I just call my stuff “photography,” and be done with it. Especially if it’s an art

show (as opposed to a photo club meeting), I doubt anybody would even blink at the fact that

you’re omitting what amounts to trivial details. Have you ever seen a painting specify the brand

of canvas and paint used? If anybody cares, they’ll ask you at the opening reception —

along with whether or not you use a filter to protect your lens (and if so what brand and model

number).</p>

<p>Cheers,</p>

<p>b&</p>