Underwater Photography Help Needed!

rkn

Hello,

I am a newbie Scuba diver and love the idea of underwater photography! That being said I know very little about it and am hoping some of the experienced underwater photographers will chime in here and give me some advise. First, can a Canon 60D be used underwater? I realize it's now considered an older model camera, but I have one lying around in "perfect condition" and am wondering can it be refurbished to use under water? If so, what housing would you recommend? Also what lens? I am finding the simple point and shoot camera fun to use underwater but they just don't measure up the versatility of a SLR. Your assistance is greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

There is a store in Monterey called "Backscatter Underwater Photo & Video". Lots of useful info there and staffed by knowledgeable people. I'm not a Scuba diver but I've been on the mailing list from when I used to take my E6 there for processing. A fascinating place to visit.
  • Like 1

I've used Ikelite housings for film cameras in the days before digital. Oh to not have to change film on a rocking boat with salt water dripping from your hair! Helix, outside of Chicago, has a bunch of stuff. Helix Camera & Video, 100 N Walnut St, Itasca, Il 60143 312-421-6000

I think the 60D would be fine. I've been out of the water for years, so hopefully someone with recent experience will chime in. I think a wide lens with a dome port is probably what would be recommended except maybe for macro work. A strobe also.

Good luck.357916933_-trumpetfish.thumb.jpg.5aa8186021de8ab83a30ded443be2619.jpg

• Like 1

Good underwater housings for DLSRs are often more expensive than the cameras themselves. ;) You can rent them though.