Theoretical treatment of lens design tradeoffs?

jyoungman

<p>There doesn't appear to be a more appropriate forum for this question, though it may not be on-topic for this forum either.<br>

I'm looking for material presenting a theoretically oriented treatment of the tradeoffs and design decisions in photographic lenses. The Wikipedia article is interesting as far as it goes, but I'm looking for greater depth. My background is quite technical (I have a degree in physics) but I've not studied the field before, so I'm not afraid of complexity as long as the material lays the groundwork too.<br>

Things I'd like to understand better are:<br>

- why is it hard to make high-aperture wide-angle lenses? (for telephoto lenses the reasons are obvious)<br>

- what other things get sacrificed to achieve flatness of field?<br>

- what are the effects of moving the diaphragm to different locations in the lens?<br>

- what generates coma? How does one avoid it? <br>

- why do some lenses have focal lengths that vary with subject distances?<br>

- if I want to modify a design to reduce minimum focus distance, what will I need to compromise to do so?</p>

<p>I'm not actually seeking to do lens design myself, I'd just like to understand the challenges and trade-offs more.</p>

<p>Study some books by A. E. Conrady; Rudolf Kingslake; Warren Smith; ; and study classical len designs first. Then dabble into computer lens design; optical glass types.</p>

<p>Wanting a great fast wide angle that is low in cost is like wanting a women that is super pretty; makes a million bucks; wants 5 kids; can bake biscuits at 3am; requires zero sleep; and is tolerant of all mans monkey business.</p>

<p>Lens design is very complex and deep subject. It is ancient too. The lay public often has no clue on the tradeoffs involved.<br>

<br /> Moving the diaphram around changes alot of things when off axis; even with a simple one element lens like in an old box camera.<br>